The Chelsea midfielder says that the referee saw the Arsenal striker catch him around the half-hour mark during the World Cup last-16 clash but opted not to show the forward a card.
Les Bleus then went on to win the match thanks to two late goals as they booked their place in the quarter-finals of the tournament.
“Yes I got an elbow and the referee saw it and he only gave him a warning, not even a yellow card, nothing,” Mikel told Mirror Sport. “It was bad.
“We know the game – if you see it, act on it. The ref saw it. He did catch me, I don’t know if it was too hard but the intention was definitely there.
“I don’t think Giroud is a dirty player, I have played against him several times before and everyone wants to win for his country.
“He hasn’t done those sort of things before so maybe it was just one of those things in the heat of the moment.”
MORE: Man United latest news
MORE: Arsenal latest news
MORE: Chelsea latest news
MORE: Liverpool latest news