Journalist vows to run against Sepp Blatter in Fifa election

Grant Wahl has announced his plan to run against Blatter in bid to become ninth Fifa president

Kieran Beckles
By Kieran Beckles
sepp blatter
Sepp Blatter has been Fifa president since 1998 Photo: Marcello Casal Jr. / ABr

sepp blatter

An American journalist is plotting to end Sepp Blatter’s reign by vowing to run for the post of Fifa president in June.

Grant Wahl, 37, says he intents to stand as a “people’s choice” against 74-year-old Blatter, who has held the post since 1998 and is up for re-election on 1 June.

Blatter’s bid to win a fourth four-year term at Fifa comes in the wake of the corruption allegations that marred the bidding and votes for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups last December.

Wahl, who requires one nomination from a Fifa member before 1 April in order to stand, said: “Wherever I go, I encounter lots of dissatisfaction with Fifa.

“People aren’t happy with the way it has been run but up until now there has been no way for anyone to register their feelings,” stated Wahl.

He added: “Fifa needs a Wikileaks-type clean out of documents to show what has gone on.”

Wahl, who has a degree in politics from Princeton University, is the author of ‘The David Beckham experiment’, a US best-seller about the England midfielder’s attempts to conquer America.

The Sports Illustrated magazine journalist insists he is serious about replacing Blatter as the ninth president of Fifa, and hopes he can help “shake up” the governing body’s administration.

“If people can take some humour from it then I’m happy, but I’m totally serious in hoping that this can lead to something that might bring about some real change,” he continued.

“I know I’m a long shot. I don’t have the money to fly around the continents to garner support like Blatter, but I think there has to be a federation willing to support a candidate wanting to shake-up the system.”

Fifa presidents

1) Robert Guérin (1904-1906) – France
2) Daniel Burley Woolfall (1906-1918) – England
3) Jules Rimet (1921-1954) – France
4) Rodolphe Seeldrayers (1954-1955) – Belgium
5) Arthur Drewry (1955-1961) – England
6) Stanley Rous (1961-1974) – England
7) João Havelange (1974-1998) – Brazil
8) Sepp Blatter (1998-Incumbent) – Switzerland


MORE: The latest football transfer news

MORE: Meet the Premier League's most stylish footballers

MORE: Do you know the top Muslim footballers in the Premier League?

MORE: Take a tour of Arsenal star Mesut Ozil’s £10m London house

MORE: Man United latest news

MORE: Arsenal latest news

MORE: Chelsea latest news

MORE: Liverpool latest news

ATP Finals 2018
The Sport Review
Roger Federer: reflecting on No1, reviewing 2018, hoping for more in 2019
The Sport Review
Top 50 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Meet Arsenal star Mesut Ozil’s girlfriend Amine Gulse
The Sport Review
Take a tour of Arsenal star Mesut Ozil’s £10m London house with us
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Chelsea, Arsenal stars feature – Slideshow
The Sport Review
Meet Chelsea FC star Andreas Christensen’s girlfriend Katrine Friis
ATP Finals 2018
The Sport Review
Nitto ATP Finals: A star is born as Sascha Zverev beats Djokovic to claim biggest title
The Sport Review
Andy Townsend suggests where Man United need January signings
The Sport Review
AC Milan keen on signing Chelsea FC midfielder – report