Singapore Grand Prix 2011: Vettel wins to close in on title

Red Bull driver is now just one point from claiming back-to-back world championship titles

By Gareth Llewellyn
singapore grand prix 2011
Vettel now needs just a point to win the title Photo: Getty Images, courtesy of Red Bull Racing

singapore grand prix 2011

Sebastian Vettel moved to within one point of becoming the youngest double world champion as he produced another perfect drive to win the Singapore Grand Prix.

The Red Bull driver took the chequered flag by just 1.7 seconds from McLaren’s Jenson Button, giving him a 124-point lead over the 2009 world champion with just five races left.

Vettel could have won the title on Sunday, but it was always more likely that his day would come in Japan ““ a race the German has won for the last two years.

Vettel’s dominating drive was reminiscent of the way compatriot and seven-time winner Michael Schumacher secured his titles, as his team-mate Mark Webber, who finished third in the race, and Fernando Alonso, who was fourth, were both eliminated from this year’s title race.

“The car was fantastic and we were in a comfortable position for most of the race, which is pretty handy around here because it’s quite a big challenge to put the sectors together in qualifying and in the race,” Vettel said.

“I’m very pleased and it looks like we have another chance to seal the championship at the next race.”

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton took fifth behind Vettel, almost 68 seconds behind, with the Briton causing more controversy as he again clashed with Ferrari’s Felipe Massa on lap 12, leaving the Brazilian with a puncture.

And the 2008 world champion was handed his fifth drive-through penalty of the season after a stewards’ investigation.

Schumacher was also in the wars as he ploughed into the back of Sauber’s Sergio Pérez on lap 30, bringing out the safety car and obliterating Vettel’s 22-second lead.

The 42-year-old Mercedes driver came close to flipping his car but landed on four wheels before smashing nose-first into the barrier at Turn 8.

Normal service was resumed when the safety car came in, with Vettel again building up a comfortable lead before a late charge from Button saw his cushion cut by a second a lap – but it was not enough to stop the German cruising to his ninth victory of the season.

Scotland’s Paul di Resta produced a stunning drive to finish sixth ““ his best result in his debut year ““ as Force India gambled with a two-stop strategy.

Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg finished seventh ahead of Force India’s Adrian Sutil, Massa – who recovered from his collision with Hamilton – and Pérez.

Renault, who suffered their worst race of the season, were fined €10,000 for giving Bruno Senna incorrect instructions following the safety car period.

The Brazilian was told he was racing Pérez, who was ahead of him on the road but the Mexican was a lap ahead, and the pair collided as Senna tried to overtake

A statement issued by the FIA read: “The team failed to inform the driver of his correct race position which led to an avoidable collision with car #17 Sergio Pérez.”

The stewards also handed a reprimand to Schumacher for his collision with Pérez, despite the German claiming the incident to be caused by a misunderstanding.

Singapore Grand Prix 2011 – Race result

1 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull 1hr 59mins 06.757secs

2 Jenson Button (Gbr) McLaren 1:59:08.494

3 Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:59:36.036

4 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 2:00:02.206

5 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 2:00:14.523

6 Paul di Resta (Gbr) Force India 2:00:57.824

7 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP at 1 Lap

8 Adrian Sutil (Ger) Force India at 1 Lap

9 Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari at 1 Lap

10 Sergio Perez (Mex) Sauber-Ferrari at 1 Lap

11 Pastor Maldonado (Ven) Williams at 1 Lap

12 Sebastien Buemi (Swi) Scuderia Toro Rosso at 1 Lap

13 Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Williams at 1 Lap

14 Kamui Kobayashi (Jpn) Sauber-Ferrari at 2 Laps

15 Bruno Senna (Bra) Renault at 2 Laps

16 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Lotus F1 at 2 Laps

17 Vitaly Petrov (Rus) Renault at 2 Laps

18 Jerome d’Ambrosio (Bel) Virgin Racing at 2 Laps

19 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) HRT-F1 at 4 Laps

20 Vitantonio Liuzzi (Ita) HRT-F1 at 4 Laps

21 Jaime Alguersuari (Spa) Scuderia Toro Rosso at 5 Laps

Not classified:

22 Jarno Trulli (Ita) Lotus F1 47 Laps completed

23 Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes GP 28 Laps completed

24 Timo Glock (Ger) Virgin Racing 9 Laps completed

Novak Djokovic is defending champion at the Mutua Madrid Open (Photo: Marianne Bevis)
French Open 2020 men’s preview: Djokovic, Nadal, Thiem lead the charge
Sky Sports News reporter Dharmesh Sheth
Sky Sports reporter: Leeds United have ‘concrete’ interest in signing Man United midfielder
Kai Havertz
Ben Chilwell sends message to new Chelsea FC signing Kai Havertz after hat-trick
Frank Lampard
‘It’s a good problem’: Frank Lampard reacts to Chelsea FC stars’ displays
Timo Werner
Timo Werner: How I convinced Kai Havertz to move to Chelsea FC
Mesut Ozil
Mikel Arteta delivers fresh update on Mesut Ozil at Arsenal
Top 50 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC and Man United stars feature
Top 50 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC and Man United stars feature
John Barnes
John Barnes: The player Man United should sign before transfer deadline
Mesut Ozil
Mikel Arteta delivers fresh update on Mesut Ozil at Arsenal
Kai Havertz
Frank Lampard talks up new Chelsea FC signing after brilliant performance