Indian Grand Prix 2011: Red Bull’s Vettel takes pole

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel storms to his 13th pole of 2011 for Sunday's inaugural Indian Grand Prix

By Gareth Llewellyn
sebastian vettel
Vettel took his 13th pole of the season in India Photo: Getty Images, courtesy of Red Bull Racing

sebastian vettel

Sebastian Vettel continued his incredible qualifying form as he cruised to his 13th pole of the season at the Buddh International Circuit ahead of Sunday’s inaugural Indian Grand Prix.

Vettel led the way for all of Q3 after setting a stunning early time, before improving with a 1m24.178s to put some distance between himself and his closest rivals.

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton was second quickest on the track, almost three tenths slower, but will start the race fifth after his three-place grid penalty for ignoring waved double yellows in Friday morning practice.

Vettel’s Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber, who was a further three hundredths slower, replaces the McLaren driver on the front row.

“I think it was a good session for us,” Vettel said. “It was tricky for all of us. The car has been fantastic since yesterday.

“I am extremely happy. It’s good to be here. It will be a very interesting race. It’s a challenging circuit so I’m looking forward to tomorrow.”

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso will start third ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button, who was seven tenths off Vettel’s pace, with Felipe Massa starting from sixth alongside Hamilton after a dramatic afternoon for the Brazilian.

Nico Rosberg was seventh for Mercedes, while the last three Q3 drivers opting to remain in the pits for the final qualifying session to save tyres for the race. Force India’s Adrian Sutil was classified eighth, ahead of Jaime Alguersuari and Sébastien Buemi.

Still getting to grips with tyre choices and the layout of the new circuit, a stream of drivers headed out at the beginning of Q1 on the harder option Pirelli tyre, to conserve the prime tyre for the race.

But many struggled with grip and Hamilton and Massa were among the drivers who ran wide, throwing up more dust onto an already dusty circuit.

Button and Mercedes’ Michael Schumacher both complained to their teams about the lack of rear grip on the option tyres, and had to switch to the prime to make it through Q1 on their final runs, eliminating Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi.

Q2 was equally curious as drivers ran on the prime tyre to guarantee a Q3 place, but Schumacher missed out on his final run and qualified 12th, despite being on the prime tyres, as both Toro Rosso drivers made it through to the top 10 shootout.

Force India’s Paul di Resta also missed the cut and will start 13th, along with both Renaults.

Vitaly Petrov will from 16th following his five place grid penalty for running into Schumacher at the last race in Korea, just behind team-mate Bruno Senna who will start from 15th.

The final session produced the expected fireworks in the battle for pole, with Vettel again setting the benchmark with a 1m24.437s to lead Hamilton and Webber, while Alonso will be happy to have been within just a couple of hundredths off his main rivals.

Massa, who was quickest in Friday practice, had a session to forget after smashing his front suspension on the kerbs at Turn 8, before colliding with the barriers.

At the back of the grid, HRT will be buoyed by their performance as both drivers out-qualified the Virgin cars.

Indian driver Narain Karthikeyan was just slower than team-mate Daniel Ricciardo, but will start ahead of the Australian, after he drops to the back for a gearbox change.

Indian Grand Prix 2011 – Starting grid

1 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull 1mins 24.178secs

2 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 1:24.474

3 Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:24.508

4 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 1:24.519

5 Jenson Button (Gbr) McLaren 1:24.950

6 Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 1:25.122

7 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:25.451

8 Adrian Sutil (Ger) Force India No Time

9 Sebastien Buemi (Swi) Scuderia Toro Rosso No Time

10 Jaime Alguersuari (Spa) Scuderia Toro Rosso No Time

11 Vitaly Petrov (Rus) Renault 1:26.319

12 Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:26.337

13 Paul di Resta (Gbr) Force India 1:26.503

14 Pastor Maldonado (Ven) Williams 1:26.537

15 Bruno Senna (Bra) Renault 1:26.651

16 Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Williams 1:27.247

17 Sergio Perez (Mex) Sauber-Ferrari 1:27.562

18 Kamui Kobayashi (Jpn) Sauber-Ferrari 1:27.876

19 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Lotus F1 1:28.565

20 Jarno Trulli (Ita) Lotus F1 1:28.752

21 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) HRT-F1 1:30.216

22 Narain Karthikeyan (Ind) HRT-F1 1:30.238

23 Jerome d’Ambrosio (Bel) Virgin Racing 1:31.878

24 Timo Glock (Ger) Virgin Racing 1:34.046

• Lewis Hamilton and Sergio Perez both receive three-place grid penalties due to ignoring a yellow flag in Friday’s practice, so will start the race in 5th and 20th places respectively.

• Additionally, Vitaly Petrov receives a five-place grid penalty for causing a accident with Michael Schumacher in the Korean Grand Prix and Daniel Ricciardo receives a five-place grid penalty for an unscheduled gearbox change, they will start 16th and 24th respectively.


MORE: Have your say on Facebook

MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

The Sport Review
Friendly rivals Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer celebrate ‘the great memories we shared’
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Ander Herrera: Why Man United trust top 19-year-old
The Sport Review
Steven Gerrard predicts where Man United will finish this term
The Sport Review
Chelsea and Man United have edge over title rivals, claims Schmeichel