Korean Grand Prix 2011: Red Bull’s Vettel wins in Yeongam

Sebastian Vettel secures 10th victory of 2011 to hand Red Bull their second consecutive constructors' title

The Sport Review staff
By The Sport Review staff
sebastian vettel mark webber
Vettel and Webber celebrate in Yeongam Photo: Getty Images, courtesy of Red Bull Racing

sebastian vettel mark webber

Sebastian Vettel won the Korean Grand Prix from McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton to help Red Bull wrap up the constructors’ championship in Yeongam on Sunday.

The world champion sealed his 10th victory of the season as Red Bull secured their second consecutive Formula 1 constructors’ title.

“It’s good to see the whole team keeps on pushing,” said Vettel. “To come here, after a tough ride early in the weekend and a tough qualifying, the car was superb, getting quicker and quicker.

“I didn’t need the safety car, with Lewis close again, but I was able to manage the gap and push when I had to.

“But after last weekend in winning the drivers’ title, now the constructors’, this is fantastic, with a lot of thanks to [engine suppliers] Renault.”

Korean Grand Prix 2011 – Race result

1 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull 01hr 38mins 01.994secs,

2 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 01:38:14.013

3 Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 01:38:14.471

4 Jenson Button (Gbr) McLaren 01:38:16.688

5 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 01:38:17.683

6 Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 01:38:27.127

7 Jaime Alguersuari (Spa) Scuderia Toro Rosso 01:38:51.532

8 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP 01:38:56.047

9 Sebastien Buemi (Swi) Scuderia Toro Rosso 01:39:04.756

10 Paul di Resta (Gbr) Force India 01:39:10.596

11 Adrian Sutil (Ger) Force India 01:39:13.223

12 Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Williams 01:39:35.062

13 Bruno Senna (Bra) Renault at 1 lap

14 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Lotus F1 at 1 lap

15 Kamui Kobayashi (Jpn) Sauber-Ferrari at 1 lap

16 Sergio Perez (Mex) Sauber-Ferrari at 1 lap

17 Jarno Trulli (Ita) Lotus F1 at 1 lap

18 Timo Glock (Ger) Virgin Racing at 1 lap

19 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) HRT-F1 at 1 lap

20 Jerome d’Ambrosio (Bel) Virgin Racing at 1 lap

21 Vitantonio Liuzzi (Ita) HRT-F1 at 1 lap

Not Classified:

22 Pastor Maldonado (Ven) Williams

23 Vitaly Petrov (Rus) Renault

24 Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes GP


MORE: Have your say on Facebook

MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

The Sport Review
Shanghai Masters 2017: Rampant Roger Federer downs Rafael Nadal for 94th career title
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Joey Barton predicts where Chelsea will finish this season
The Sport Review
Arsenal make final decision about Mesut Ozil’s future – report
The Sport Review
Length of Chelsea star Victor Moses’ injury lay-off confirmed – report