Ballon d’Or 2011: Rooney the only Englishman on shortlist

Man Utd's Wayne Rooney is the only English player included on the shortlist for the 2011 Ballon d'Or

The Sport Review staff
By The Sport Review staff
fifa ballon d'or
The winner of the 2011 Ballon d'Or will be announced on 9 January 2012 Photo: The Sport Review

fifa ballon d'or

Wayne Rooney is the only English player on the 23-man shortlist for the prestigious Ballon d’Or award, which was released by Fifa on Tuesday.

The 25-year-old striker netted 16 goals for Manchester United last season to help Sir Alex Ferguson’s men win a record 19th Premier League title.

Rooney is one of only four players – along with Manchester City’s Sergio Agüero, United’s Nani and Liverpool’s Luis Suárez – in the running for the 2011 price who currently ply their trade in the Premier League.

The shortlist is dominated by European and Spanish champions Barcelona, who lead the way with eight nominees including Lionel Messi, winner for the last two years, while La Liga rivals Real Madrid boast five names.

Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola has again been nominated in the coach of the year category, along with Chelsea manager André Villas-Boas and Arsenal’s Arsène Wenger.

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is also on the list, as is José Mourinho of Real Madrid, who won the award last year.

The three players and coaches shortlisted for the final awards will be announced on 5 December before the glitzy award ceremony in Zurich on 9 January.

Ballon d’Or 2011 – Player nominees

Eric Abidal (France), Sergio Agüero (Argentina), Karim Benzema (France), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Dani Alves (Brazil), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Cesc Fábregas (Spain), Diego Forlán (Uruguay), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Nani (Portugal), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Gerard Piqué (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Holland), Luis Suárez (Uruguay), David Villa (Spain), Xabi Alonso (Spain), Xavi (Spain).

Ballon d’Or 2011 – Coach nominees

Vicente del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC), Rudi Garcia (France/Lille OSC), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Barcelona), Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Joachim Löw (Germany/Germany national team), José Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid), Oscar Tabárez (Uruguay/Uruguay national team), André Villas-Boas (Portugal/Porto, Chelsea), Arsène Wenger (France/Arsenal).


MORE: The latest football transfer news

MORE: Meet the Premier League's most stylish footballers

MORE: Do you know the top Muslim footballers in the Premier League?

MORE: Man United latest news

MORE: Arsenal latest news

MORE: Chelsea latest news

MORE: Liverpool latest news

The Sport Review
ATP World Tour Awards: Federer and Nadal continue 2017 rivalry into end-of-year player awards
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Gary Neville sends blunt message to Jurgen Klopp about Liverpool FC defence
The Sport Review
Arsene Wenger hails ‘exceptional’ Arsenal star: He’s agile, quick and intelligent
The Sport Review
Owen Hargreaves sends warning to Man United about Victor Lindelof