Monaco Grand Prix 2012: Webber takes pole as Schumacher is denied

Michael Schumacher posts the fastest time in qualifying ahead of Sunday's Monaco Grand Prix, but will not start from pole position

The Sport Review staff
By The Sport Review staff
mark webber
Webber will start in pole for Sunday's Monaco Grand Prix Photo: Getty Images, courtesy of Red Bull Racing

mark webber

Mercedes driver Michael Schumacher was the fastest in qualifying ahead of Sunday’s Monaco Grand Prix but the German will start in sixth after he received a grid penalty.

It means Red Bulls’ Mark Webber will start in pole position despite losing out to the seven-time world champion by 0.08 seconds, while Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg and McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton will line up in second and third respectively.

“I’m more than thrilled to manage pole position here. It is the race you want to do well at and after what I have been through in the last two years it is just fabulous,” Schumacher told the BBC.

“It confirms what I have felt for a long time, but sometimes you have to put everything in the right moment together.”

Mercedes team boss Ross Brawn said: “I have to admit I had a bit of a tear in my eye. He’s faced some tough times since his comeback but he has been in good shape all weekend.”

1 Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes GP 1min 14.301secs

2 Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:14.381

3 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:14.448

4 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 1:14.583

5 Romain Grosjean (Swi) Lotus F1 Team 1:14.639

6 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 1:14.948

7 Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 1:15.049

8 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Lotus F1 Team 1:15.199

9 Pastor Maldonado (Ven) Williams 1:15.245

10 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull no time

11 Nico Hulkenberg (Ger) Force India 1:15.421

12 Kamui Kobayashi (Jpn) Sauber-Ferrari 1:15.508

13 Jenson Button (Gbr) McLaren 1:15.536

14 Bruno Senna (Bra) Williams 1:15.709

15 Paul di Resta (Gbr) Force India 1:15.718

16 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:15.878

17 Jean-Eric Vergne (Fra) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:16.885

18 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Caterham 1:16.538

19 Vitaly Petrov (Rus) Caterham 1:17.404

20 Timo Glock (Ger) Marussia 1:17.947

21 Pedro de la Rosa (Spa) HRT-F1 1:18.096

22 Charles Pic (Fra) Marussia 1:18.476

23 Narain Karthikeyan (Ind) HRT-F1 1:19.310

24 Sergio Perez (Mex) Sauber-Ferrari no time

Michael Schumacher will start sixth on the grid due to to a five-place grid penalty incurred during the Spanish GP. Pastor Maldonado has been handed a 10-place grid penalty.


MORE: Have your say on Facebook

MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

The Sport Review
Friendly rivals Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer celebrate ‘the great memories we shared’
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Ander Herrera: Why Man United trust top 19-year-old
The Sport Review
Steven Gerrard predicts where Man United will finish this term
The Sport Review
Chelsea and Man United have edge over title rivals, claims Schmeichel