Spanish Grand Prix 2012: Lewis Hamilton stripped of pole

Lewis Hamilton stripped of pole for Sunday's Spanish Grand Prix after stopping his car out on the track at the end of qualifying

By Steven Oldham
lewis hamilton
Lewis Hamilton in action in qualifying in Barcelona Photo: Getty Images, courtesy of Red Bull Racing

lewis hamilton

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton has been stripped of pole position and sent to the back of grid for Sunday’s Spanish Grand Prix.

Hamilton stopped his car out on the track following his pole-winning lap having run out of fuel.

The Formula 1 rules state that all drivers must provide a sample of their fuel to be tested for irregularities when they return to the pits.

The stewards rejected McLaren’s arugment that the occurence was ‘force majeure’ and their decision sees Williams driver Pastor Maldonado move up to take his first ever pole position in F1.

The stewards’ ruling said: “A team member had put an insufficient quantity of fuel into the car, thereby resulting in the car having to be stopped on the circuit in order to be able to provide the required amount for sampling purposes.

“As the amount of fuel put into the car is under the complete control of the competitor, the stewards cannot accept this as a case of force majeure.”

A McLaren statement said: “We accept that the stewards did not agree with our interpretation of force majeure. Our aim is now to maximise the points we can score.”

In a busy afternoon for the stewards, they accepted HRT’s request for special dispensation for Narain Karthikeyan to start the race.

The Indian had not made the 107 per cent cut-off point of the fastest time set in Q1. They cited that Karthikeyan’s time in FP3 was within the 107 per cent zone and representative that he would not be dangerously off the pace in the race.

Spanish Grand Prix 2012: Revised starting grid

1 Pastor Maldonado (Ven) Williams 1:22.285

2 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 1:22.302

3 Romain Grosjean (Swi) Lotus F1 Team 1:22.424

4 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Lotus F1 Team 1:22.487

5 Sergio Perez (Mex) Sauber-Ferrari 1:22.533

6 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:23.005

7 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull no time

8 Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes GP no time

9 Kamui Kobayashi (Jpn) Sauber-Ferrari no time

10 Jenson Button (Gbr) McLaren 1:22.944

11 Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:22.977

12 Paul di Resta (Gbr) Force India 1:23.125

13 Nico Hulkenberg (Ger) Force India 1:23.177

14 Jean-Eric Vergne (Fra) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:23.265

15 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:23.442

16 Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 1:23.444

17 Bruno Senna (Bra) Williams 1:24.981

18 Vitaly Petrov (Rus) Caterham 1:25.277

19 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Caterham 1:25.507

20 Charles Pic (Fra) Marussia 1:26.582

21 Timo Glock (Ger) Marussia 1:27.032

22 Pedro de la Rosa (Spa) HRT-F1 1:27.555

23 Narain Karthikeyan (Ind) HRT-F1 1:31.122

24 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 1min 21.707secs


MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

BIOGRAPHY: Cesc Fabregas

Davis Cup final 2017
The Sport Review
Davis Cup 2017: Can Goffin and Darcis lead giant-killer Belgium past France to victory at last?
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Michael Owen sends warning to Chelsea ahead of Liverpool FC clash
The Sport Review
Sir Alex Ferguson privately raves about 20-year-old Man United star – report
The Sport Review
Antoine Griezmann talks up potential Man United transfer next year