Hoy, Owen and more: Twitter reacts as Wiggins wins SPOTY award

Chris Hoy and Michael Owen both tweet their thoughts after Bradley Wiggins scoops the Sports Personality of the Year award

The Sport Review staff
By The Sport Review staff
bradley wiggins
Bradley Wiggins won the Tour de France in July Photo: ADda, via Flickr

bradley wiggins

Bradley Wiggins was crowned BBC Sport Personality of the Year after winning the Tour De France and Olympic gold in a blistering 10-day spell this summer.

London 2012’s golden girl Jessica Ennis finished runner-up, while Olympic and US Open champion Andy Murray came third.

Here is the best of the Twitter reaction from the world of sport.

Six-time Olympic champions Chris Hoy (‏@chrishoy) pays tribute to first, second and third place: “Congratulations to Bradley, @J_Ennis and @andy_murray well deserved! And thanks to those who voted for me!”

Former Liverpool midfielder Dietmar Hamann ‏(@DietmarHamann) is delighted to see Wiggins pick up the top prize: “Not got a problem with Wiggo winning …thoroughly deserved it ….so would have all the others ….tremendous athletes all of them!”

England bowler Steven Finn (‏@finnysteve) enjoyed Lennox Lewis’ botched presentation to Murray: “How did that third place trophy get over to Miami so quickly? That’s a good effort from the BBC! Well done Wiggo, impressive year to win SPOTY!”

Former Red Rose captain Will Carling (‏@willcarling) reveals who he voted for: “Well done Bradley !! I did vote for you!! Haha how could anyone not!! #SPOTY2012”

Ex-England captain Michael Vaughan ‏(@MichaelVaughan) is thrilled to see Wiggins scoop the award: Well deserved Wiggo… Now he is a personality….. That’s what it’s about…#sportspersonalityoftheyear!”

Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand ‏(@rioferdy) chimes in: “Congratulations to Bradley Wiggins winning #Spoty!”

Former England cricketer Marcus Trescothick ‏(@Trescricket) is happy with the outcome: “A great top three and really glad Wiggins won. So many sporting faces around but now time for a beer!”

The 1998 winner Michael Owen ‏(@themichaelowen) expected Mo Farah to make the top three: “What an unbelievable night. Only surprise was that Mo didn’t make the Top 3. Had a lump in my throat most of the night. What a sporting year!”

Finally, the 2007 winner Joe Calzaghe (‏@RealJoeCalzaghe) agrees: “Congrats to the winners tonight at #BBCSPOTY! Shocked @mo_Farah didn’t make the top three!”


MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

BIOGRAPHY: Mohamed Salah

The Sport Review
Grigor Dimitrov beats David Goffin to win his biggest title, ‘But I still have a lot to give’
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Wenger makes admission about Sanchez’s future after Arsenal’s 2-0 win over Tottenham
The Sport Review
Jose Mourinho admits Man United star was ‘different class’ against Newcastle
The Sport Review
Thierry Henry rates Alexandre Lacazette’s display for Arsenal v Tottenham