Ballon d’Or 2012: Lionel Messi wins record fourth crown

Ballon d'Or 2012: Lionel Messi beats off competition from Cristiano Ronaldo to scoop the award for a record fourth time

Martin Caparrotta
By Martin Caparrotta in Zurich
lionel messi
Lionel Messi scored a record 91 goals for club and country in 2012 Photo: FIFA/Getty Images

lionel messi

Lionel Messi has beaten off competition from Cristiano Ronaldo and Andrés Iniesta to become the first player to win a fourth Ballon d’Or award.

The 25-year-old Barcelona star finished the year with a staggering 91 goals to his name for club and country after breaking Gerd Mueller’s 40-year-old record of having netted the most strikes in a calendar year.

The Argentina international received 41.6 per cent of the vote, ahead of second-place Ronaldo (23.68 per cent) and Messi’s Barça team-mate Iniesta (10.91 per cent).

“To tell you the truth, it’s really unbelievable to get a fourth consecutive award,” said a beaming Messi upon receiving the prize. “I would like to recognise my colleagues from Barcelona and Argentina.

“I would like to thank my family, my friends and finally my wife and my son. They are the most beautiful thing I ever got from God.”

Meanwhile, Spain boss Vicente del Bosque was named as Men’s Coach of the Year ahead of Pep Guardiola and José Mourinho.

Del Bosque’s Spain side became the first team to retain the European championship crown with their success in Poland and Ukraine last summer.

“It is an honour for me to represent Spanish football here today,” he said. “I would like to thank all the players of the Spanish team. They have an outstanding behaviour. It’s a privilege to work with them.

“I would like to remember all of the coaches that I had in my career who influenced my desire to become a coach.”

Former Germany captain Franz Beckenbauer won the Fifa Presidential award for 2012.

“I have received quite a number of awards over the decades, but to get the Fifa Presidential award, that is unique,” he said. “For this reason, I would like to thank the president for keeping me in mind for this award.”

Elsewhere, Abby Wambach won the Women’s Player of the Year award, while former USA boss Pia Sundhage was named as Women’s Coach of the Year.

abby wamback

Abby Wambach won the Women’s Player of the Year award ahead of Marta and Alex Morgan (Photo: FIFA/Getty Images)

“They told me to prepare a speech but I really didn’t expect this,” said Wambach. “Winning any individual award is the total product of the team that you play for. This is for all of my team-mates and all of the fans out there who continue to inspire me and my team.”

Ballon d’Or 2012: Award winners in full

Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi

Men’s Coach of the Year: Vicente del Bosque

Women’s Player of the Year: Abby Wambach

Women’s Coach of the Year: Pia Sundhage

Puskas Goal of the Year award: Miroslav Stoch

Fifa Fair Play award: Uzbekistan Football Association

Fifa Presidential award: Franz Beckenbauer

Fifa/FifPro World XI 2012: Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas; Defenders: Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo; Midfielders: Xabi Alonso, Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta; Forwards: Lionel Messi, Radamel Falcao, Cristiano Ronaldo.


MORE: The latest football transfer news

MORE: Meet the Premier League's most stylish footballers

MORE: Do you know the top Muslim footballers in the Premier League?

MORE: Man United latest news

MORE: Arsenal latest news

MORE: Chelsea latest news

MORE: Liverpool latest news

The Sport Review
Shanghai Masters 2017: Rampant Roger Federer downs Rafael Nadal for 94th career title
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Michael Owen reacts to Liverpool’s 7-0 win at Maribor
The Sport Review
Jamie Carragher sends clear warning to Man United after Liverpool FC draw
The Sport Review
Arsenal make decision about Mesut Ozil’s future – report