Ashes 2013-14: England rest Anderson, Pietersen & Swann for ODI & T20 series

Ashes 2013-14: England opt to rest Kevin Pietersen, James Anderson and Graeme Swann for the ODI and T20 series next year

By Daniel Jolly
James Anderson
England bowler James Anderson Photo: The Sport Review

James Anderson, Kevin Pietersen and Graeme Swann have been omitted from England’s squad for the one-day international and Twenty20 series against Australia next year.

Stuart Broad, Ian Bell, Danny Briggs, Tim Bresnan and Gary Ballance, who weren’t part of the side that lost 2-1 in the ODI format this summer, join captain Alastair Cook back in the fold.

Much of the squad is unchanged from September’s reverse series on home turf, with ten players keeping their places, and England head coach Andy Flower explained the trio’s omission.

Flower said: “Guys like Anderson and Pietersen are in their early 30s now. They are prize assets; we need to look after them.”

The 16-man squad begin the series on 12 January for a five match ODI series in Melbourne before the climax at Adelaide on 26 January.

Just three days later, the tourists will begin a trio of Twenty20 games at Hobart before finishing on 2 February in Sydney.

This will be the first time the sides have met in the format since drawing the pair of match-ups in August.

The selectors have again kept faith with the majority of the party that played in England, with Ben Stokes and Tim Bresnan the only additions.

Reflecting on the choices, National Selector Geoff Miller said: “We have an important period of limited overs cricket coming up with an ICC World T20 in Bangladesh in March and we are just over a year away from the ICC Cricket World Cup in New Zealand and Australia.

“These two series against Australia allow valuable opportunities for players to push for places in both squads and given the rivalry between the sides both series will no doubt be keenly contested.”

ODI squad: Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham) and James Tredwell (Kent).

T20 squad: Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) (Capt), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire) , Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Tredwell (Kent) and Luke Wright (Sussex).


MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

BIOGRAPHY: Anthony Martial

The Sport Review
Grigor Dimitrov beats David Goffin to win his biggest title, ‘But I still have a lot to give’
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Wenger makes admission about Sanchez’s future after Arsenal’s 2-0 win over Tottenham
The Sport Review
Jose Mourinho admits Man United star was ‘different class’ against Newcastle
The Sport Review
Thierry Henry rates Alexandre Lacazette’s display for Arsenal v Tottenham