Austrian Grand Prix 2014: Nico Rosberg pips Lewis Hamilton to win

Austrian Grand Prix 2014: Mercedes' Nico Rosberg pips Lewis Hamilton to victory to extend championship lead

The Sport Review staff
By The Sport Review staff
nico rosberg
Nico Rosberg currently leads the drivers' championship Photo: Mercedes

Nico Rosberg admitted his delight at extending his drivers’ championship lead by beating Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton to win the Austrian Grand Prix on Sunday.

The German, who qualified third on Saturday, finished ahead of his team-mate and Williams drivers Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa, and Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso.

I had a very very fast car again but it is great to win again

Lewis Hamilton

Rosberg now leads Hamilton by 29 points in the drivers’ standings ahead of the British Grand Prix at Silverstone on 6 July.

“It wasn’t the easiest of races, trying to manage certain things happening, but I had a very very fast car again but it is great to win again,” said Rosberg.

“It was also great to get another one-two. It’s great to be back in Austria, it’s great to have a race here again and the fans have been fantastic.

“I am looking forward to the next one [at Silverstone], it is the home race so another one-two would be great to give the guys in the garage something to cheer about.”

Hamilton added: “I have to look at the feedback, maybe my positioning isn’t right. The guys have done a fantastic job for us to get another one-two and the fans here have been insane.”

Austrian Grand Prix 2014: Race result

1. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes-Mercedes 1hr 27m 54.976s 71 laps

2. Lewis Hamilton Britain Mercedes-Mercedes +00m 01.9s

3. Valtteri Bottas Finland Williams-Mercedes +00m 08.1s

4. Felipe Massa Brazil Williams-Mercedes +00m 17.3s

5. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari-Ferrari +00m 18.5s

6. Sergio Perez Mexico Force India-Mercedes +00m 28.5s

7. Kevin Magnussen Denmark McLaren-Mercedes +00m 32.0s

8. Daniel Ricciardo Australia Red Bull-Renault +00m 43.5s

9. Nico Hulkenberg Germany Force India-Mercedes +00m 44.1s

10. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Ferrari-Ferrari +00m 47.7s

11. Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes +00m 50.9s

12. Pastor Maldonado Venezuela Lotus-Renault +1 lap

13. Adrian Sutil Germany Sauber-Ferrari +1 lap

14. Romain Grosjean France Lotus-Renault +1 lap

15. Jules Bianchi France Marussia-Ferrari +2 laps

16. Kamui Kobayashi Japan Caterham-Renault +2 laps

17. Max Chilton Briton Marussia-Ferrari +2 laps

18. Marcus Ericsson Sweden Caterham-Renault +2 lap

19. Esteban Gutierrez Mexico Sauber-Ferrari +2 laps

Rtd. Jean-Eric Vergne France Toro Rosso-Renault 59 laps completed

Rtd. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault 34 laps completed

Rtd. Daniil Kvyat Russia Toro Rosso-Renault 24 laps completed


MORE: Have your say on Facebook

MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

The Sport Review
Shanghai Masters 2017: Rampant Roger Federer downs Rafael Nadal for 94th career title
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Michael Owen reacts to Liverpool’s 7-0 win at Maribor
The Sport Review
Jamie Carragher sends clear warning to Man United after Liverpool FC draw
The Sport Review
Arsenal make decision about Mesut Ozil’s future – report