Six Nations 2015: Ireland add Roger Wilson and Billy Holland to squad

Head coach Joe Schmidt brings in reinforcements ahead of their championship showdown with England at the Aviva Stadium

The Sport Review staff
By The Sport Review staff

Roger Wilson and Billy Holland have been added to the Ireland’s squad for their RBS 6 Nations match against England on Sunday.

Back-row forward Wilson (pictured above), who captained Ulster to a 20-17 win over Edinburgh in the Guinness PRO12 last Friday, won his only full cap back in 2005 on a tour of Japan, while Munster flanker Holland is uncapped at senior international level.

They were included in Joe Schmidt’d 36-man squad on Tuesday afternoon, but neither are expected to make the cut when the Ireland head coach names his match-day squad on Friday for the Dublin clash.

Schmidt has a dilemma over who to slot in to the back row to replace injured Leinster number eight Jamie Healsip, who was ruled out with a damaged transverse process following a cynical knee in the back by Pascal Papé in their 18-11 win over France at the Aviva Stadium on 14 February.

The Leinster captain was named in the Ireland squad announced on Tuesday, but he will not take part in the potential championship decider against Stuart Lancaster’s England, who are the only other unbeaten team left this year, and is aiming to return for the trip to Wales on 14 March.

Heaslip’s Leinster colleague Jordi Murphy is in line to return to the starting XV after deputising for Heaslip in the opening round win against Italy in Rome.

Ireland squad for England game (36):

Forwards (19): Rory Best (Ulster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Billy Holland (Munster), Mike McCarthy (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Martin Moore (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Sean O’Brien (Leinster), Paul O’Connell (Munster), Tommy O’Donnell (Munster), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Dominic Ryan (Leinster), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Roger Wilson (Ulster).

Backs (17): Isaac Boss (Leinster), Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Darren Cave (Ulster), Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Felix Jones (Munster), David Kearney (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92), Simon Zebo (Munster).


MORE: Have your say on Facebook

MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

The Sport Review
Friendly rivals Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer celebrate ‘the great memories we shared’
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Ander Herrera: Why Man United trust top 19-year-old
The Sport Review
Steven Gerrard predicts where Man United will finish this term
The Sport Review
Chelsea and Man United have edge over title rivals, claims Schmeichel