Guinness PRO12: Pat Lam charged with misconduct over comments
Connacht head coach blamed their defeat at Cardiff Blues on an intervention by Welsh assistant referee Leighton Hodges
Pat Lam is to be hauled before a Guinness PRO12 disciplinary committee after his post-match outburst on Friday night.
The Connacht head coach was seething after seeing his side lost 18-17 to Cardiff Blues after a dramatic finale to the clash at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park.
Pat Lam, the Connacht Head Coach, has been formally charged with misconduct by the Disciplinary Officer of PRO12 Rugby following comments he made to the media following the Guinness PRO12 match against Cardiff Blues in Cardiff on Friday evening
Guinness PRO12 statement
Trailing 17-11, the Blues put together over 60 phases in overtime before Argentine international Joaquín Tuculet went over in the corner before Rhys Patchell nailed a clutch conversion to hand the Welsh region an unlikely victory.
But New Zealand-born Lam, a former Samoa international, went public with his indignation at a post-match press conference to demonstrate that Welsh referee Leighton Hodges, who was an assistant on the night, intervened when Connacht looked to have turned over the ball and cleared it to touch which should have ended the game four minutes before it did.
Hodges advised Scottish referee Lloyd Linton that Connacht had committed an offence and to award a penalty to the Blues, from which they were able to relaunch their siege on the Irish province’s tryline.
“It is the biggest call and I am absolutely gutted,” Lam said after the match.
”There is a changing room there that deserved more.
“The ball comes back, it’s 83:27 minutes into the game. Cardiff knock the ball on, there is no ruck, our hooker picks the ball up, it is cleared, the ref is just about to blow and then Leighton Hodges, the touch judge, says it’s hands in the ruck.
“A, clearly no ruck. B, clearly he knocked the ball on, and the referee is one metre away to call that.
“I’ve had texts from quite influential people agreeing that the decision is wrong.
“That is a massive call and it should be over and finished. I will go through the process now, but it was the wrong call and it cost us the game.
“The bottom line is that is a massive call to make in a game. To make a call like that which is completely wrong is disappointing.
“I believe we have to be accountable. We’re talking livelihoods here so officials need to be accountable too. I have full faith [PRO12 independent referee commissioner] Ed Morrison will follow this up.”
A date has not yet been determined for Lam’s hearing.