Chelsea’s Eden Hazard has goal against Arsenal chalked off
Eden Hazard's strike has in fact been recorded as a Calum Chambers own goal
Chelsea’s second goal scored against Arsenal during Saturday’s 2-0 win for the Blues has been confirmed as a Calum Chambers own goal.
Hazard was initially credited with the stoppage-time strike, which deflected past Petr Cech and into the net off the Arsenal defender.
However, the Premier League’s goal accreditation panel has confirmed that the strike has officially been recorded as an own goal, meaning that Hazard is yet to officially score for Chelsea this season.
A Premier League statement read: “Chelsea’s second goal against Arsenal on Saturday 19 September 2015 was in fact a Calum Chambers own goal and has therefore not been credited to Eden Hazard.”
The decision comes because the panel adjudged Hazard’s initial shot not to be on target before the deflection by Chambers.
The news will come as a disappointment to Arsenal defender Chambers, who also scored an own goal during the north London side’s 2-1 League Cup win over Tottenham Hotspur on Wednesday night.
Hazard will be hoping to get off the mark when Chelsea return to Premier League action against Newcastle United at St James’ Park on Saturday evening.