Alexis Sanchez and Eden Hazard on Ballon d’Or 2015 shortlist

Alexis Sanchez and Eden Hazard are both in the running to win the 2015 Ballon d'Or award

Martin Caparrotta
By Martin Caparrotta
alexis sanchez ballon d'or
Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez is in the running for the Ballon d'Or Photo: BT Sport

Alexis Sanchez and Eden Hazard are among five Premier League players on the shortlist for the 2015 Ballon d’Or.

The Arsenal and Chelsea stars join Manchester City trio Sergio Aguero, Kevin De Bruyne and Yaya Toure as the English top flight’s representatives on the 23-man list.

Last year’s winner Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who have won the last seven awards between them, lead the nominees.

Spain’s La Liga has 11 players nominated, while Germany’s Bundesliga has six nominees. There are two from Italy’s Serie A and one from France’s Ligue 1.

Meanwhile, Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho and Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger are on the 10-man coach of the year shortlist.

Fifa Ballon d’Or 2015 shortlist

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City)
Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid)
Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/VfL Wolfsburg/Manchester City)
Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain)
Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich)
Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona)
Paul Pogba (France/Juventus)
Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona)
Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich)
James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real Madrid)
Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal)
Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona)
Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire/Manchester City)
Arturo Vidal (Chile/Juventus/FC Bayern Munich)

The list has been drawn up by football experts from the Fifa football committee and a group of experts from France Football.

The winners of all of the awards will be announced at the Ballon d’Or ceremony in Zurich on 11 January 2016.

Fifa World Coach of the Year for men’s football shortlist

Massimiliano Allegri (Italy/Juventus)
Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Real Madrid)
Laurent Blanc (France/Paris Saint-Germain)
Unai Emery (Spain/Sevilla FC)
Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Bayern Munich)
Luis Enrique (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Chelsea)
Jorge Sampaoli (Argentina/Chilean national team)
Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atletico Madrid)
Arsene Wenger (France/Arsenal)

The awards recognise the achievements of the best player in the world between 22 November 2014 and 20 November 2015 inclusive.


MORE: The latest football transfer news

MORE: Meet the Premier League's most stylish footballers

MORE: Do you know the top Muslim footballers in the Premier League?

MORE: Man United latest news

MORE: Arsenal latest news

MORE: Chelsea latest news

MORE: Liverpool latest news

The Sport Review
Friendly rivals Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer celebrate ‘the great memories we shared’
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Arsenal, Man United, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 40 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Top 25 footballers’ cars: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Real Madrid players feature
The Sport Review
Top 20 Nigerian footballers in Premier League: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool stars feature
The Sport Review
Arsenal player wages 2017: Do you know how much Xhaka, Ozil and Coquelin earn each week?
The Sport Review
Lineker sends message to Arsenal fans after 5-2 win over Everton
The Sport Review
Jose Mourinho confirms return of key Man United star for Tottenham clash
The Sport Review
Gary Neville pinpoints where Man United need to improve