Federer, Nadal, Ferrer among nominees for 2015 ATP World Tour Awards

Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal are among the nominees for the 2015 ATP World Awards

Marianne Bevis
By Marianne Bevis

The annual ATP Awards honour the season’s best players and tournaments in a variety of categories, both for on-court achievements, off-court impact and popularity with both fans and fellow players.

Three of the key player Awards are selected by the players themselves. The shortlists, as nominated by the ATP and international tennis journalists, have now been presented to the players for their votes.

Nominees for Most Improved Player of the Year have “reached a significantly higher ranking and demonstrated an increasingly improved level of performance through the year.” Last year’s recipient was Roberto Bautista Agut.

Hyeon Chung
Borna Coric
Dominic Thiem
Bernard Tomic

Nominees for Comeback Player of the Year have “overcome serious injury in re-establishing themselves as one of the top players on the tour.” Last year’s recipient was David Goffin.

Aljaz Bedene    
John Millman
Benoit Paire
Jack Sock

Nominees for Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award have “conducted themselves at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, competed with fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness, and promoted the game through off-court activities.” Last year’s recipient was Roger Federer.

Kevin Anderson
Roger Federer
David Ferrer
Rafael Nadal

Players also select their Tournaments of the Year in each of three categories, Masters, 500 and 250, after the season is finished. Last year’s winners were:

Masters, Indian Wells
500, Dubai
250, Queen’s

Tennis fans vote for one of the most popular accolades, the ATPWorldTour.com Fans’ Favourite. Voters can select one from each of the drop-down menus that feature the top 20 singles players and top 10 doubles teams.

Voting in this category is open until the week before the World Tour Finals, where the ATP Awards are presented throughout the tournament. Last year’s recipients were Roger Federer and Mike and Bob Bryan.

Two individual awards are made by the ATP itself.

The Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award is given to the person who has made outstanding humanitarian contributions. Last year’s recipient was Andy Murray.

The Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award is given to a journalist who has made significant contributions to the game of tennis. Last year’s recipient was Doug Robson.

The remaining awards are determined entirely by the players’ ranking position at the end of the season:

ATP World Tour No1s in singles and doubles “are presented to those who end the year as No1. 2014 recipients were Novak Djokovic, and Bob and Mike Bryan, and Djokovic has already assured himself of the Award this year, too.

ATP Star Of Tomorrow is given to the youngest player in the top 100 by the final tournament of the year. 2014’s recipient was Borna Coric.

Novak Djokovic is defending champion at the Mutua Madrid Open (Photo: Marianne Bevis)
French Open 2020 men’s preview: Djokovic, Nadal, Thiem lead the charge
Sky Sports News reporter Dharmesh Sheth
Sky Sports reporter: Leeds United have ‘concrete’ interest in signing Man United midfielder
Kai Havertz
Ben Chilwell sends message to new Chelsea FC signing Kai Havertz after hat-trick
Jurgen Klopp
Mark Lawrenson states his prediction for Liverpool FC v Arsenal
Frank Lampard
‘It’s a good problem’: Frank Lampard reacts to Chelsea FC stars’ displays
Frank Lampard
Mark Lawrenson states his prediction for West Brom v Chelsea FC
Top 50 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC and Man United stars feature
Top 50 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC and Man United stars feature
John Barnes
John Barnes: The player Man United should sign before transfer deadline
Mesut Ozil
Mikel Arteta delivers fresh update on Mesut Ozil at Arsenal
Kai Havertz
Frank Lampard talks up new Chelsea FC signing after brilliant performance