Biography

Luke Shaw

Luke Shaw is an English footballer currently at Man United. Find out more about Luke in our in-depth biography

Man United defender Luke Shaw Photo: Adidas

Luke Shaw is an English footballer who is currently at Premier League club Manchester United.

The full-back started his professional career at Southampton and Shaw made his debut against Millwall at the age of 16.

Luke made his league debut in 1-0 win against West Brom in the Premier League on November 2012.

After two seasons in the Southampton first-team, Shaw completed a £27m move to Manchester United in 2015.

Luke made his first Red Devils appearance in a 2-1 win over West Ham in August 2015.

Shaw replaced Ashley Cole to make his England debut in a 1-0 win over Denmark at Wembley on 27 February 2014.

Personal Information:

Date of birth: 12 July 1995
Age: 23 years old
Place of birth: Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Nationality: English
Height: 185cm / 6ft 1 ins
Weight: 75kg / 170 lbs
Wages: £70,000 a week
Transfer value: £27 million

Facebook: lukeshawofficial
Instagram: lukeshaw23
Twitter: lukeshaw23

Early career

Luke was born in Kingston-Upon-Thames in London.

Shaw supported Chelsea FC during his childhood and naturally harboured a desire to represent his local team.

However, Luke wasn’t offered a place at their academy following some sessions at the club’s development camp.

Southampton

Photo: Luke Shaw / Instagram

Shaw moved to Southampton’s youth academy at the age of eight.

He was a regular in the Southampton Under-18 team at the age of 15.

Shaw was the subject of interest from Arsenal, Chelsea FC and Manchester United in 2012 January transfer window despite not making a first-team appearance for the Saints.

However, Southampton were keen to stress that Luke was not for sale given his huge potential.

Shaw made his first-team debut as a 77th-minute substitute in a 1-1 draw with Millwall in the FA Cup third round on 28 January 2012.

He was handed his first professional contract following Southampton’s promotion to the Premier League.

2012-13

His first start for the Saints came in a 4-1 win over Stevenage in the League Cup first round on 28 August 2012.

Shaw made his Premier League debut in a 2-0 loss at West Brom on 5 November 2012.

Luke started his first Premier League game in a 1-1 draw with Swansea City at St Mary’s five days later.

He completed 90 minutes for the first time in Southampton’s 1-0 loss to Liverpool FC at Anfield on 1 December 2012.

Shaw created an assist for Jason Puncheon’s goal in a 2-2 draw with Chelsea in Nigel Adkins’ final game in charge of the Saints.

His successor Mauricio Pochettino managed to get the best out of the promising full-back.

Luke finished the season with one assist in 28 games in all competitions.

2013-14

He signed a new five-year deal with the Saints on his 18th birthday on 12 July 2013.

Shaw made an assist for Rickie Lambert’s winner in a 1-0 victory over West Brom at The Hawthorns in their opening Premier League game of the season on 17 August 2013.

He went on to impress in Southampton’s victories over Liverpool FC and Crystal Palace before a 1-1 stalemate at Manchester United.

Luke made his second assist in a 2-2 draw with Arsenal at St Mary’s in January 2014.

Shaw finished the season with two assists in 39 games in all competitions for the Saints.

Manchester United

Photo: Luke Shaw / Instagram

Manchester United won the race to sign Shaw in a £27m deal from Southampton on 27 June 2014.

Shaw put pen to paper on a five-year deal with the 20-time English champions despite reported interest from his boyhood club Chelsea FC.

The English full-back became the most-expensive teenager in the world following his move.

2014-15

His new manager Louis van Gaal wasn’t impressed with Shaw’s fitness levels during his first pre-season at Old Trafford.

Van Gaal said of Luke: “He is OK, but I am always a trainer-coach who sees individuals and what they need. He needs to be fit and is not very fit and fit enough to do what I want. He needs to train individually until he is fit.”

Shaw made his Manchester United debut in a 2-1 win over West Ham United at Old Trafford on 27 September 2014.

Luke featured in a run of games before he missed a month of football in November due to injury.

He was sent off for the first time after a second bookable offence in a 1-1 draw with West Ham at Upton Park on 8 February 2015.

Shaw made five appearances in the final three months of his debut campaign at Manchester United.

Luke ended the season with 20 appearances in all competitions.

2015-16

Photo: Luke Shaw / Instagram

Shaw made an impressive start to the 2015-16 season. The England international looked noticeably fitter and sharper.

He started their opening five Premier League games to help Manchester United record victories over Tottenham Hotspur, Aston Villa and Liverpool FC.

However, Luke’s form was curtailed when the Manchester United defender suffered a double fracture of his leg following Hector Moreno’s reckless challenge in their 2-1 loss to PSV Eindhoven in the Champions League on 15 September 2015.

Shaw had to receive oxygen and was looked after by nine medical staff during the nine-minute stoppage in Eindhoven.

2016-17

Jose Mourinho replaced Van Gaal at Manchester United in May 2016.

Luke made his first appearance for the new manager in a 2-1 win against Leicester City in the Community Shield at Wembley on 7 August 2016.

Shaw started Manchester United’s opening three Premier League games in victories over Bournemouth, Southampton and Hull City. He was taken off during their next two top-flight fixtures before Luke was sidelined for a month.

Luke returned to make a late appearance in a goalless draw with Liverpool FC on 17 October 2016 before he started their 4-1 win against Fenerbahce in the Europa League days later.

Shaw went on to start the club’s next three games in all competitions before he fell out of favour under Mourinho.

Indeed, Luke started three games between January and May to end the 2016-17 campaign in disappointing fashion.

Shaw made 19 appearances in all competitions as Manchester United won the Europa League and the League Cup.

2017-18

Luke remained at Manchester United for the start of the 2017-18 season despite intense speculation surrounding his future.

Shaw made his first appearance of the season as a half-time substitute in a 4-1 win over Burton in the League Cup third round in 2017.

He had to wait until 5 December to make his first start of the campaign in a 2-1 win over CSKA Moscow in the Champions League.

Mourinho handed Shaw starts for their 1-0 win against Bournemouth in the Premier League and 2-1 loss to Bristol City in the League Cup semi-finals.

Luke started five successive games in the Premier League during the festive period to suggest Shaw had turned a corner under Mourinho.

However, the left-back made just three starts following his last 90 minutes in the Premier League against Swansea on 15 January.

Shaw was linked with a potential summer move to FC Barcelona, Chelsea FC and Tottenham Hotspur.

However, speculation in June 2018 suggested Man United were prepared to offer Shaw a new deal.

Jose Mourinho quotes on Luke Shaw

Photo: Luke Shaw / Instagram

September 2016: “Today for the second goal, (Nordin) Amrabat is on the right side, and our left back is 25 metres distance from him, instead of five metres. But even at 25 metres, then you have to jump and go press. But no, we wait.”

November 2016: “There is a difference between the brave, who want to be there at any cost, and the ones for who a little pain can make a difference. If I were to speak with the many great football people of this team, they will say many times they played without being 100 per cent. For the team you have to do anything. That is my way of seeing.”

February 2017: “He has had a couple of small injuries this season and needs to adapt. He knows what I like in a defender, he knows that I like stability, that I don’t like mistakes, that for me it is to trust a player totally and he has to work to get it.”

April 2017: “It’s difficult for him to be on the bench because I cannot compare him with Ashley Young, with Darmian, with (Daley) Blind. I cannot compare the way he trains, the way he way he commits, the focus, the ambition. He is a long way behind.”

April 2017: “He [Shaw] had a good performance but it was his body with my brain. He was in front of me and I was making every decision for him. The communication was possible because we were very close. I was thinking for him, when to close inside, when to open, when to press the opponent, I was making every decision for him.”

January 2018: “And now with a good run of matches and continuity also, playing like he did against Everton, two days after a previous match, he’s good, solid, physically much better, mentally much stronger, tactically understanding the game much better and what we need in different phases and circumstances. I’m really happy and [looking at the transfer market], I can say that in this moment I don’t see many left-backs better than this Luke Shaw.”

February 2018: “I wanted to defend better, I want my defensive line to be more solid in relation to a few, not many.”

International career

Shaw replaced Chelsea FC legend Ashley Cole in a 1-0 victory over Denmark at Wembley on 27 February 2014.

Roy Hodgson included Luke in England’s 2014 World Cup at the expense of Cole.

He made his only appearance in the tournament in a goalless draw with Costa Rica in their final group stage game.

Shaw was the youngest player to feature in the tournament.

Personal life

Photo: Luke Shaw / Instagram

Shaw is in a relationship with Anouska Santos.

Interesting facts about Luke Shaw

• Shaw was named in the PFA Premier League team of the year in 2013-14.

• Luke has two major honours to his name: Community Shield and Europa League.

• His love for Chelsea FC’s Gianfranco Zola ignited his passion for football.

• Shaw shares the same birthday as Bayern Munich and Colombia star James Rodriguez.

MORE:

MORE: The latest football news

MORE: The latest tennis news

BIOGRAPHY: Ethan Hazard

BIOGRAPHY: Daniel Sturridge

Exclusive interview
The Sport Review
Exclusive interview: John Barnes on why Roberto Firmino is Liverpool FC’s most important player
The Sport Review
Top 50 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC and Man United stars feature
The Sport Review
Meet Arsenal star Mesut Ozil’s girlfriend Amine Gulse
The Sport Review
Take a tour of Arsenal star Mesut Ozil’s £10m London house with us
The Sport Review
Top 50 most stylish footballers in the world in 2017: Chelsea, Arsenal stars feature – Slideshow
The Sport Review
Meet Chelsea FC star Andreas Christensen’s girlfriend Katrine Friis
The Sport Review
All change for BBC Sports Personality of the Year, as shortlist of nominees kept under wraps
The Sport Review
Simon Mignolet sends message to Alisson after Liverpool FC win
The Sport Review
Gary Neville: How Unai Emery is getting ‘maximum’ out of Arsenal squad