Biography

Curtis Jones

English Footballer
Curtis Jones
Curtis Jones (Photo: Nike)

Curtis Jones is an English footballer who plays as a midfielder for Liverpool FC.

Curtis Jones

• Date of birth: 30 January 2001
• Age: 21 years old
• Place of birth: Liverpool, England
• Nationality: English
• Position: Midfielder
• Height: 185cm / 6ft 1ins
• Weight: 75kg / 165lbs
• Wages: £7,500 per week (Reported)

• Instagram: @curtisjr
• Twitter: @curtisjr_10

The 21-year-old midfielder, who grew up in central Liverpool, came through the youth ranks at Liverpool FC and first joined the Merseyside club when he was just nine years old.

He made his first-team debut for the Liverpool FC side under Jurgen Klopp in January 2019 and soon began to feature more regularly for the Reds.

Jones scored his first senior goal for Liverpool FC in January 2020 and has represented England at various youth levels.

He made a handful of appearances for the Liverpool FC first team as the Reds won the Premier League title for the first time in their history in the 2019-20 campaign.

Following his impressive performances for the Reds, Jones was handed the number 17 shirt at the Merseyside club ahead of the 2020-21 season.

So, what do we know about Jones’ story and his rise to becoming the talented midfielder he is today? This is his story.

Early Life, Family And Upbringing

Curtis Jones (full name: Curtis Julian Jones) was born on 30 January 2001 in Liverpool, England. Jones grew up with his family Toxteth, an inner-city area in Liverpool.

Jones initially joined Liverpool FC as an Under-9s player and quickly progressed through the youth ranks.

A boyhood Liverpool FC fan, Jones has admitted in the past that playing for the club he supports is like a “dream”.

“This is my boyhood club and playing for Liverpool means everything,” Jones said in an interview with the Liverpool Echo back in 2019. “For me, this is a dream. I’m just going out there trying to impress and doing the best I can.”

Curtis Jones

Curtis Jones (Photo: @curtisjr / Instagram)

Liverpool FC

Jones impressed as he made his way through the youth set-up at Liverpool FC and he made his debut for the club’s Under-23 side in January 2018.

He also featured regularly for the Liverpool FC Under-18s, who were at the time coached by club legend Steven Gerrard.

Shortly after, Jones was rewarded for his fine performances when he signed his first professional contract with Liverpool FC on 1 February 2018. He was joined by Gerrard on the day he signed his first contract with the Reds.

Jones’ first-team debut for Liverpool FC came on 7 January 2019, when he started a 2-1 defeat by Wolves in the FA Cup third round at Molineux.

Jones’ next outing for Liverpool FC came on 25 September 2019, when he played the full 90 minutes in a 2-0 victory over MK Dons in the League Cup third round.

Jones scored his first goal for the Liverpool FC first team on 5 January 2020, when he netted the winner in the second half of the Reds’ 1-0 victory over Everton at Anfield in the FA Cup third round.

Aged 18 years and 340 days, the goal made Jones the youngest goal-scorer in a Merseyside derby since Robbie Fowler scored for Liverpool FC back in 1994.

“It’s massive for me and the rest of the young boys,” Jones said after hitting the winner in the derby clash. “At times it’s frustrating thinking you might get a chance but then having to sit on the bench and watch. We proved that we’re learning every day and trying to push for a place in the team.

“I dream of a lot of things but this one was more than a dream. There are world-class players in this team but I think I went out and showed what I could do on the pitch.”

Curtis Jones

Curtis Jones (Photo: BT Sport / YouTube / Screengrab)

Jones continued to impress when he was called upon and became the club’s youngest-ever captain on 5 February 2020, when he skippered a youthful Reds side to a 1–0 victory over Shrewsbury in an FA Cup fourth-round replay at Anfield (he was 19 years and five days old).

Jones ended the 2019-20 season with three goals in 12 games in all competitions. He made six appearances in the Premier League as the Reds won the title in the 2019-20 campaign.

Jones’ rapid rise through the ranks at Liverpool FC and breakthrough into the first team culminated in him being rewarded with a new long-term contract with the Anfield club on 4 July 2020.

The midfielder could not hide his pride at being handed a new deal at the club, saying at the time: “It’s my boyhood club and it’s the whole of my family’s club as well, so for me it’s huge.

“I think the environment and stuff is all positive and keeps me as positive as I can. Of course, we’re working with a great manager and around the best team in the world, so for me it was easy and [I’m] extremely proud.”

Jones scored his first Premier League goal for Liverpool FC on 5 July 2020, netting in the 89th minute of a 2-0 victory over Aston Villa at Anfield.

On 20 July 2020, it was announced that Jones would wear the number 17 shirt for the Reds from the 2020-21 season. Former Liverpool FC players to have won the shirt include Steven Gerrard and Steve McManaman.

Curtis Jones

Curtis Jones (Photo: Nike)

International Career

Jones has represented England at various youth levels, including Under-16, Under-17, Under-18 and Under-19.

He made his debut for the England Under-21s on 7 October 2020, in a 3-3 draw against Andorra. He netted his first goal for the England U21s on 13 November 2020, in a 3-1 win over Andorra’s U21s.

Life Away From The Pitch

Jones generally appears to enjoy keeping his private life away from the spotlight.

Most of the photos shared on his personal Instagram account are about his work as a Liverpool FC player, either in training or after match play.

He has also shared a few photos of himself with his girlfriend Saffie Khan on the social media app. But it would appear that Jones is fully focused on performing at his best for his club.

Curtis Jones

Curtis Jones (Photo: @curtisjr / Instagram)

What Have Others Said?

Reds boss Jurgen Klopp, speaking about Jones in January 2022: “I know him [Jones] for a long time now and I am one of his biggest fans. rom when I first saw him I can remember the talent group training at Melwood on a side pitch and I looked out of my office and saw him and it was ‘Ooof. Wow’. The next question was ‘How old is he?’ I think he was 15 at the time but was already clearly a massive talent.

“Talents need to work and he is doing that work and talents need to learn the game and he is doing that every day. Sometimes they need a push and Curtis looks like he is that guy – not that he is not concentrating. It is a proper response and if his response is like this then absolutely fine.”

James Milner, speaking about Jones’ improvement in September 2019: “I’ve seen a massive difference in Curtis in the last year,” Milner said in September 2019. “He’s always had that ability but seems a bit more mature now; [he’s] defending well, getting his angles right when he’s defending.

“I think he’s realised as well that if you want to play for Liverpool, that’s as important as the stuff on the ball. Not only that, he’s got so much ability and skills and tricks, and it’s about using them in the right area.”

Former Premier League striker Dion Dublin, speaking after Jones scored his first Liverpool FC goal against Everton on 5 January 2020: “Remember Wayne Rooney’s first goal for Everton? We were thinking ‘we have got somebody special here’. I’ve got to tip my hat to the young man – what a finish and his first goal for his hometown club!”

Liverpool FC boss Klopp, speaking about Jones in July 2018: “Curtis is a proper Scouser – I don’t know if I have the right words, but he is not shy to say a few things and probably that’s a surprise for one or two players!

“It’s easy, he accepts the rules of the group, there is no doubt about that. Football-wise he of course stepped up, that’s how it is. He is a tall boy but still very mobile, good at dribbling and stuff like that. Physical-wise [he is good] and has talent as well, but there is a long way to go.”

Biographies By Name

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
Gossip
Erik ten Hag
Man United set to miss out on signing FC Barcelona midfielder Frenkie De Jong - report
Gossip
Fabrizio Romano
Fabrizio Romano: Croatia attacker ‘appreciated’ by Chelsea FC boss Thomas Tuchel
Gossip
Jurgen Klopp
Liverpool FC set to announce signing of Fulham teenager Fabio Carvalho - report
Gary Neville
Gary Neville predicts where Arsenal, Tottenham will finish
Michael Owen
Michael Owen reacts to Liverpool FC’s penalty shootout win over Chelsea FC in FA Cup final
Slideshow
Top 50 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC and Man United stars feature
Top 50 Muslim footballers: Arsenal, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC and Man United stars feature